Skip to content

A Bowl of Rice: Lose Weight, Stop World Hunger!

October 4, 2012

As I sat eating dinner tonight, I thought about World Hunger. Millions of people around the word (and sadly, here in the West also!) do not have enough to eat. My life is better now, but I still remember the days that I literally went all day with only water from a park fountain and no food. Those were hard times, and I’m a proud man, so it wasn’t in me to ask for help! I believe it is our obligation as those that have to help those that legitimately (i.e., not the Welfare scammers!) don’t have enough. Especially in a growing epidemic where obesity is out of control, I thought of a potential way to kill two birds with one stone:

One day a year – just ONE day – only eat a bowl of rice. With the money you would have spent on other food, donate it to a legitimate charity that is working to elleviate hunger in the world.

See, I told you I like simplicity! And if you follow my blog you’ll know what a hopeless dreamer I am, but this is so simple it just might work. Well, I don’t know that it will stop you from being overweight, but at least it’s a step in the right direction.

I hope that as my Pants-4-Art project continues to grow, I can create some World Hunger art to raise some additional funds.

We already live in a world of problems… let’s try and shift our world into one of SOLUTIONS.

Together, as a united world, we can achieve great things…!

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

