Skip to content

The Story Behind The Signature

September 4, 2012

I was asked the other day about my signature. Although it is immediately recognisable as an ant to me, it isn’t to many others. I found myself explaining the history behind it, and felt it might make an interesting post. So here’s the story…

Back in England at Junior School, I was in the second year (about 8 or 9 years old), and I had a form teacher, Mr Goldsmith. I can’t remember what subjects he taught, but he was one of my favorite teachers. I do recall that he used to commute up from Rochester every day, which was quite a treck. It was a great disappointment when he informed the class that he had found a new job closer to home and would be leaving us.

My nickname at school (like so many people called Anthony!) was ‘Ant’, which fit well, because I was small and very strong for my size. Before he left, he wrote me a little note (which I believe I still have somewhere at home in my Mum’s loft in one of my ‘memory boxes’). It read, simply: “Good luck, Ant…!” (the ant part signed similar to how my signature is today). I’m not sure why he did this, but I’m glad he did, because it became the foundation of my artistic career. I diligently practiced signing my name like that, and it became my ‘tag’ on all my drawings and artwork at the time. It’s been with me ever since.

Thank you Mr Goldsmith, wherever you are now…!

Ant.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

