Skip to content

Experience vs Stability?

April 4, 2012

Which would you chose?

Throughout our lives we have many choices to make. In fact, it’s my personal opinion that we are always at a position of choice. The choices we make, however, do direct where we go in life, the experiences we have, and the stability we might have to sacrifice along the way.

I was working in the garden the other day (a friends, not mine) and I thought about my life. Turning a year older in your early forties kinda does that to you, I guess. Looking back on my life, I’ve been very fortunate to experience a great many things (some good, some bad!) and I chose to have those experiences. I get asked a lot – and have been asked since my mid-20s – how I’ve managed to experience so much. The simple answer is I chose to sacrifice stability to have those experiences. At the time I don’t think I actually saw it that way, I just felt that was the right thing to do at the time, but I’m wired in a way that I’d rather look back on my life and look at all the things I tried, rather than all the things I had wished I’d tried.

A fellow blogger, Lesley Carter, runs a site Bucketlist Publications, which is great and it’s a good read, but I’ve never had a bucketlist per se, I’ve just gone with the flow and followed my heart (most of the time).

Admittedly, there have been some moments recently when I’ve thought about having gone for more stability, but in retrospect, I wouldn’t have changed a thing. How about you? Did you sacrifice having an experience and went for stability and security instead? I’d love to hear YOUR stories… please comment below, if you have time!

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

