Skip to content

Poem: “Jus’ Like the Tree”

January 3, 2012

Here’s a cute, little poem that plopped into my head early in the morning the other day. I was feeling rather happy (as you can probably tell from the feel of the poem) and pondering my girlfriend’s New Year’s Resolution to just accept people the way they are more and let people just be who they are, and just enjoy them. I hope you enjoy this, it’s quite musical…! I think I’ll set it to some simple music at some point.

Jus’ Like the Tree

I just be
Just like the tree
It’s just me
Free to be free

It don’t moan
‘Bout where it’s roots is roamin’
It don’t groan
If it’s rainin’ or it’s snowin’

It just be
Just like me
It’s so free
Free like a tree

It don’t weep
‘Cos it don’t have feet
Complain about the heat
Or it didn’t sleep

It just be
Just like me
It’s so free
Free like a tree

I don’t whine
‘Bout the lack of time
I’m just fine
Skippin’ on the line

I just be
Free as the tree
We just be
I is you is me!

(c) 2012, Anthony Donnelly

Remember to ‘like’ my Facebook Celebrity Art Pants page, if you haven’t already done so…!

2 Comments
  1. I love this! And it is just like a song, it was just skiing along win my head as I read it. 🙂

  2. Gosh! Thanks for so many ‘likes’. My friend and local poet here in Allentown, Yodi, sort of inspired me to write this one… he writes some lovely poems in this style.

Leave a Reply

