Skip to content

“Elephantasy”

December 19, 2011

Well, as predicted, it didn’t take me long to ‘play around’ with my mosaic pieces from earlier! The more I stared at the fragmented pieces of paint and wax on the pizza box tiles, the more images and lifeforms moved around. A herd of elephants started to stampede my unconscious mind and this is what happened… I hope you enjoy this one…

Elephantasy

If you didn’t get a chance to see the process and evolution of the mosaic, you can have a look/ read here: Mosaics (steps 1 – 3)

And now the tiles morphed into some strange, alien beings… “Take me to your art studio…!”

Close Encounters

2 Comments
  1. Oh, in Close Encounters, I keep seeing eyes in everything. Wonderful! 🙂

  2. Glad you like it Katie!

    The title is a play on words: obviously the alien link, but also alluding to the artist Chuck Close, who I’m getting more and more influenced by.

    It is a little bit of a “spooky” piece with all the eyes and ‘forms’ floating around in there. This is the definitive form for the final piece. If I didn’t stop here, I’d probably be playing around with the 2″ square tiles long into 2012…!

    Thanks again for the support.

Leave a Reply

