Skip to content

Mosaic: steps 1 – 3

December 18, 2011

This is an interesting piece I have just finished to “step three” (See first image below. Are there more steps to come? I don’t know, but keep following to see!) It’s an idea I’ve had knocking around in my head for a while now, but I ran out of art materials! Who can relate to that? I wanted to evolve my abstract pieces into a new ‘dimension’.

I’m in a sharing mood this morning (can you tell?) so I thought I’d walk you through the process I went through with this latest piece. People say I shouldn’t give away ‘trade secrets’ (yeah right, like I’m a big shot and have something to lose by this?!) but how wonderful would it have been if your favorite artist was to leave a bigger ‘footprint’ of their processes?

Mosaic (step three)

The hardest thing about being creative is not having the necessary supplies and materials when inspiration strikes. Since I’m flat broke right now (I’m contemplating having a ‘fire sale’ to raise some Christmas funds and to cover my rent!) and don’t have any paper or canvas. So, I decided to get creative and improvise. I had a pizza box lying around and decided to experiment with it. I gessoed it and scored it part way into a 2″ grid of squares. Then I laid down the first stage (see step one)

Mosaic (step one)

Then I cut the pieces up and rearranged them in the lid of the pizza box in a totally random order. Then came the next stage of acrylic paint and wax (see step two below.)

Mosaic (step two)

There was more paint and wax after this stage, the addition of a beer can ring pull. Then once the wax had hardened a little and some of the paint had dried, it was time to cut out the squares and rearrange them for what has now become step three. I’ve put all three steps side-by-side below for clarity:

It’s wonderful that we have digital cameras to take instant pictures along the way. As I look at it now – since I have a photo of what it looks like and can recreate it again in this order – I think I probably will play around with it and have fun!

I hope you enjoy it…!

7 Comments
  1. Condra permalink

    As a fellow artist and friend I would say it is wise to recognize the end of a creative process. Sometimes while in the midst of a piece we become inspired during the process
    of its creation. Creating an unorganized surge of new ideas and it becomes difficult to to remain focused on the task at hand and the original inspiration for the piece. Not saying that the surge of new inspiration is negative, Its quite the opposite and only natural

    • Cheers buddy!

      Can’t tell from your comment whether you like the mosaics, or if you’re saying stop, you’ve gone too far! Thanks for all your creative input, you know how much I value it.

  2. Condra permalink

    As a fellow artist and friend I would say it is wise to recognize the end of a creative process. Sometimes while in the midst of a piece we become inspired during the process
    of its creation. Causing an unorganized surge of new ideas and it becomes difficult to to remain focused on the task at hand and the original inspiration for the piece gets lost. Not saying that the surge of new inspiration is negative, Its quite the opposite and only natural though I believe it is important to distinguish what I call “creative insperation” from “productive insperation”. By this I mean creative insperation is what drives you to create a piece in the first place. Wether through random thought or things you’ve seen. Productive insperation is what inspires you to create new pieces and is born during the act of creative processes. The mistake a lot of artists have made, including myself, is that we tend to let our productive insperation cloud our artistic judgment and almost subconsciously allow it to work in our piece. Resulting in a piece that has been over worked. This of course is only my opinion and would like to thank you for your open mindedness.

    • Brilliant feedback, as always. I’m not planning to add anything to the mosaic, the ‘fun’ aspect that I’m playing with is rearranging the tiles in different patterns to see what emerges. The piece is moving towards an interactive piece whereby the pieces can be rearranged like on a peg-board. I think i’ve mastered the painting and wax technique, I’m just experimenting with the final look and feel of the tiles in different positions – an interested journey so far!

  3. Interesting process. It’s like visual encryption.

    • Thanks Cleveland. “Visual Encryption” sounds rather cool, I hadn’t looked at it like that, but it sort of is an artistic encoding of sorts. Optical illusions and psychological pictures have always facinated me. Thank you for taking the time to comment, it’s given me something to think about.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. “Elephantasy” « Buy Art By Ant blog Com

Leave a Reply

