Skip to content

I Wore My Sweater Backwards

November 23, 2011

 

I wore my sweater backwards today and nobody noticed.

All day – all day – the whole day,

I wore my sweater backwards.

Nobody noticed, not even me.

They were too busy.

I was too busy.

Even I.

 

I was too busy to notice I wore my sweater backwards.

 

I woke up drunk,

dizzy,

dazed,

distracted,

and didn’t notice.

Nobody noticed, not even me.

 

I wore my sweater backwards today and nobody noticed.

 

I wish it was because they were too busy watching,

Or helping, or listening, or seeing

The wars, the hatred, the lies,

Prejudice, deception, infidelity,

The corruption, jealousy, anger, or lust.

They weren’t healing the sick,

Or helping the poor,

Feeding the hungry,

Or giving out love.

They were just busy,

And so was I.

Too busy.

 

I wore my sweater backwards today,

but Perhaps it was me that was backwards?

 

© 2011, Anthony Donnelly

3 Comments
  1. I really like this. It rings so true to me.

  2. Katie,

    Thank you so much for taking the time to comment. We all have busy lives… and yes, I did actually wear my sweater backwards and it made me think…! Who can I help today, apart from myself?

    Ant

    • You’re so welcome. I’ve worn a top inside out before, and no one said anything. And it had me feeling strange, so I understand this poetry perfectly and it is wonderful. 🙂

Leave a Reply

